Every Witch Way

Wheel Of The Year

The Wheel of the Year marks eight festivals that Pagans, Wiccans, Witches and like celebrate throughout the year. Four Solar Festivals that mark seasonal changes and four Fire Festivals that celebrate the agricultural cycle.

The Wheel is not historical, it is a modern idea, created in the 1950's by Ross Nicholls. Although the Wheel itself is modern the Festivals themselves are not. They would have been celebrated in ancient times, but not all eight of them, by all Pagan traditions. 

Due to Wicca's influence on The Wheel of the Year the Festival names tend to be of Celtic or Germanic origin.

Samhain – Halloween – All Hallows Eve - 31st Oct/1st Nov.

Yule - Winter Solstice – 20th/23rd Dec.

Imbolc – Candlemass - 2nd Feb.

Ostara – Spring Equinox – 19th/22nd Mar.

Beltane – May Eve - 30th Apr/1st May

Litha – Summer Solstice – Midsummers Eve - 19th/22nd June

Lammas – Lughnassadh - 31st Jul/2nd Aug.

Mabon – Autumn Equinox - 21st/24th Sept.